Please note, that due to the Corona Virus/COVID-19 pandemic, this workshop has been postponed to 18 – 26 November 2020 TBD in 2021. Please keep an eye out here for further updates from us.

For more information about COVID-19 and Corona Virus, please see the COVID-19 Corona Virus South African Resource Portal, or the BPS Covid-19 Resource page.

We are excited to announce the first CCP4 Crystallographic School in South Africa – Data Collection to Structure Refinement and Beyond, to be held from 31 March to 8 April 2020 18 – 26 November 2020 TBD in 2021 at the University of Cape Town, South Africa. This workshop is organized jointly by Trevor Sewell (University of Cape Town, South Africa), Carmien Tolmie (University of the Free State, South Africa), Gwyndaf Evans (Diamond Light Source, UK), and Ronan Keegan (CCP4, STFC Rutherford Appleton Laboratory, UK), with the help of Ruslan Sanishvili (Argonne National Laboratory, USA).

Aerial coastal view of Cape Town, South Africa

The workshop will cover all aspects of protein structure solution by X-ray crystallography, including the fundamental concepts of protein crystallography, crystallographic data collection, processing of diffraction data, phasing, structure refinement, validation and deposition in the PDB, as well as an introduction to CryoEM and Electron Diffraction.

Participants will have the opportunity to collect data from their own crystals at Diamond Light Source via remote access, in a data collection session facilitated by Diamond beamline staff. Software covered includes iMosflm, XDS, DIALS, BLEND, PHASER, SHELX, MrBUMP, SIMBAD, ARP/wARP, Coot, REFMAC, Isolde, Crank2, PISA and more. This workshop is most suitable for postgraduate students, postdoctoral researchers and early career scientists working in structural biology.

There is no registration fee for the workshop and accommodation will be provided for the participants not residing in Cape Town. However, the number of applicants selected for participation will be limited to 25. The application deadline is 25 January 2020.

A limited number of bursaries are available to support the travel of students from African countries.